Puns N Needles

Dispatches from my adventures: sewing, knitting, and otherwise.

On to Round 2

Leave a comment

I was selected, based on my review of my new favorite shorts, to move on to the second round of the Pattern Review Sewing Bee.  I got pretty excited when I found out yesterday… and now that the challenge for Round 2 has been posted, I’m a little bit nervous.  I tend to get nervous, so that’s no surprise really. And, I admittedly have a hard time making decisions. So, I have to decide what to make, and how to approach it in a way that makes me a winner—if I want to move on to the next round.

The rules state:

You will have one week (starting 9/14/2016) to cut, sew and photograph a garment made using fabric cut on the bias (45 degree angle). See rules below.

1. Sew a garment using fabric cut on the bias grain.

2. The garment may be made from any woven fabric. Knit fabrics and stretch woven fabrics are not allowed in this round.

3. The entry must be intended for an adult. It can be for a man or a woman; it can be for yourself, members of your family, friends, acquaintances or charity – basically, any adult! As always, items intended for sale are disallowed in this contest.

There are other rules that deal with constructing the review and how we’ll all be judged.  Since the first round, I’ve learned that creativity counts, and the judges have reminded us to post good clear photos (showing details of the garment) in our reviews.

Right now I’ve got three ideas for patterns—two different blouses that I’ve made before, but which I should do some fitting adjustments with, or a skirt that I have’t tried before, but which is a pattern that was already on my “want to make” list.

I don’t want to give too much away, but these are the fabrics that I’m considering. A heavy cotton check, a lightweight linen stripe, and a mystery slippery, crinkly crazy-print floral. Stay tuned to find out what I’m making.57838

 

Author: Accacia

I'm a librarian at a college in Lexington, Virginia. I sew, I knit, and I cook.

Leave a Reply

