Puns N Needles

Dispatches from my adventures: sewing, knitting, and otherwise.

It’s back

1 Comment

National Sewing Month. Every September since 1982, when  Ronald Reagan made the proclamation “In recognition of the importance of home sewing to our Nation.”

national sewing month
In the online sewing community, the month is observed with contests and challenges in the blog-world and Instagram. Sometimes there are prizes, but mostly these activities offer us a chance to work a little harder at our technique, creativity, and blogging practice. This year, I entered a competition for the FabricMart Fabricista challenge. I was not chosen as one of the six competitors, but will be following along to see what they come up with. There’s another competition going on at PatternReview.com, and so far, 84 people have thrown in their hat. There are eliminations each week, so we’ll see how this goes.

Remains after cutting shorts from a scrap. "Cutting it close"

Remains after cutting shorts from a scrap. “Cutting it close”

The first challenge is to sew shorts or capri pants, and I’m making shorts from a pattern I made in denim last month. I cut the fabric out of a large scrap of brushed twill, with some quilt cotton for facings and pockets. They will have grey topstitching and a sailor-style button front. Wish me luck!

Shorts status after one evening

Shorts in the morning sun – progress after one evening

Author: Accacia

I'm a librarian at a college in Lexington, Virginia. I sew, I knit, and I cook.

One thought on “It’s back

Leave a Reply

