Puns N Needles

Dispatches from my adventures: sewing, knitting, and otherwise.

Sewing for profit

Leave a comment

I lived in Seattle from 2002-2007. It was five fantastic years – Seattle was a great place to live out the later part of my twenties. I made some wonderful friends and look forward to visiting in April when the Machinist and I go for a friend’s wedding.

Not long before I left Seattle, my bartender friend Gayle, who was also moving away, said she was going to have a craft fair at the bar, and did I want to participate. “Sure!” I said, and then started scratching my head about what to make.  I had sold some knitted scarves before, but this would be in the summer, and I knew nobody would buy knitted scarves. I looked around and realized I was surrounded by cyclists. Many of my friends were also part of a casual group called “Pub ‘n’ Pedal.” They would gather on bikes and ride to happy hour, or do Critical Mass. And some of them wore short-brimmed close fitting hats… I thought to myself, “I can make those.”

So I did. I sold a few, and then when I packed up to move back across the country, the rest came home with me. Not long after that I started an etsy shop, I attended some craft fairs, and sold some hats wholesale to an independent bicycle shop.   At the height, the “shop” had inventory of more than 100 hats in several sizes. My parents bought me a new sewing machine that would keep up with production-level sewing. And when I moved to Virginia, my hats came along.

I am not a salesman. I do not enjoy long days in a booth, and craft fairs usually make me want to spend any money that I may earn. My favorite venue for selling my caps was the bike shop – he bought them wholesale from me! Last summer, a woman I know who quilts opened a shop in town – it’s part community space where people can take a class or ask for help with projects, and part space for selling hand-made items. So I brought some hats there, and some people have bought them!

A couple weeks ago, I shared pictures of some bags I made with a distant friend of mine from college. She was interested in buying one for her friend who’s about to have a baby. All this to say, my etsy shop has re-opened at https://www.etsy.com/shop/aceMade with more hats and bags to be added soon.

Author: Accacia

I'm a librarian at a college in Lexington, Virginia. I sew, I knit, and I cook.

Leave a Reply

