Puns N Needles

Dispatches from my adventures: sewing, knitting, and otherwise.

Sew-tember

2 Comments

A friend asked me the other day how Sewing September turned out.  It is November, so I am overdue for an update on my progress.  Truth be told, I don’t have a lot to show for what was to be a month of sewing.  I have some baby quilts that you’ll get to see soon. And I have three baby blankets that I knitted during September. And I have one new blouse, a Colette Violet with some modifications for size – but it’s been put away with the summer clothes before I had a chance to get a picture.

I do have a new jacket.  I had 5 yards or so of some hard to describe yellow fabric with faint green stripe that was just perfect for the “jacket express” pattern.

Pre-buttons

Pre-buttons

I made this jacket with the Craftsy class “Sew Better, Sew Faster – Garment Industry Secrets.”  Boy, did I learn a lot, not the least of which was the time-saving trick of sewing without using pins.  It didn’t take all that long, so I suppose I did sew faster. Mostly I’m just pleased with how well this turned out.

Jacket express and view from our future studio

Post buttons

The buttons came from my stash – pockets and sleeve cuffs each have a slightly smaller button than the jacket front. I had only three of those and decided to leave off the very top button.

Unfortunately, it’s gotten chilly and I haven’t gotten to wear this jacket very much yet.  It’s such a classic and versatile pattern, I expect I’ll have lots of opportunities for future wear and probably make it again.

 

Author: Accacia

I'm a librarian at a college in Lexington, Virginia. I sew, I knit, and I cook.

2 thoughts on “Sew-tember

  1. I just left a comment on your pants fitting entry … and in reading the rest of your blog I find this! I did this exact same Craftsy class and pattern. I modified mine to be pin tucks all in the front and then a zippered front, but I loved the class. Both of my grandmothers sewed for the public out of their homes and I learned to sew from sitting next to one of them at 9 years old. As I grew older I’ve sewn for my own kids and then for a short stint sewed clothing and then athletic bags in a commercial setting. Still, this Craftsy jacket had many things I already do and some nice shortcuts I really enjoyed. I’ll try to find some pictures of my garments and post them here to share 🙂

    Sometimes writing a blog seems like you’re just wasting your time, but … keep it up if you have the time. I have long distance relatives and my blog was always a nice way to write one time and share with many. These days I am more of a hermit … lol. I don’t have any kids at home to share photos of and I’m not much for photo sharing of my own self 🙂 I am looking forward to 2016 being a year when I reproduce this jacket a few more times and those fantastic pants at least 3-4 more times!!

    🙂
    ann

  2. Ann,
    It’s so nice to get your comments. Whenever I think about this blog and whether I should work harder to update it I think, “I don’t have lots of free time and I’d rather sew (or knit) than write about doing it.
    I’m looking forward to 2016 being the year of thoughtful making and thoughtful sharing. I’d love to see your pants. I guess you recommend the Palmer Pletsch pattern? Isn’t it wonderful to make well-fitting pants?!
    Accacia

Leave a Reply

